And This is For…

by

Alright, I’m gonna be busy for the rest of the weekend so today and tommorows updates are written in a hurry, last minute, at the wee hours of the morning. I ask your forgiveness in advance.

Today by special request I’m gonna talk about an underappreciated album that features both DJ Hi-tek and Talib Kweli throughout, wasn’t released by Rawkus, and quite honestly not too many people are even aware of. The album I’m speaking of is Doom by the group Mood.

Mood
Mood consisted of MC’s Donte and Main Flow as well as producer Jahson although their first single and about half of Doom featured production by Hi-Tek.

The album was released in 1997 while I was going to high school in Georgia. At the time I was bombarded daily by nothing but booty-bass music and over-enthusiastic rants about how anything released by No Limit was a masterpiece. So along with my homie Pito from NY I clung whole-heartedly to any outlet of non-Southern based hip-hop we could find. Call it reactionary if you will, but you wouldn’t believe how hard it was to find a real appreciation for anything else at the time (Outkast excluded).

I first became aware of Mood when their single Karma started getting rotation on Rap City.

Mood – Karma

and for those of you digging that sample

 

 

Of course at the time I didn’t know who Hi-Tek was, and it wasn’t until I heard Donte and Main Flow featured on the first Hi-Teknology album that I made the connection.

 

Hi-Tek – Suddenly
Of course at that point I had been checking for Black Star and all the Rawkus output for a good hot minute. According to their Wiki article the Mood crew has been staying active over the years and apparently there’s an album in the works for 2007. I for one will be interested in seeing how it turns out. Here’s a couple of highlights from Doom.

Mood – Info for the Streets

Mood – Secrets of the Sand

Mood – Industry Lies (featuring Talib Kweli)

Mood – Millenium

and yes that sample does sound familiar

Slum Village – Climax (Girl Shit)

 

DoomDon’t Let Me Be MisunderstoodHi-TeknologyFantastic Vol. 2

6 Responses to “And This is For…”

  1. Mr. Hippo Says:

    Thanks to Dr. Shock and the Alternakids crew for posting this up. I updated my post to include a link to this post:
    http://getdownnn.blogspot.com/2006/10/old-flame-hi-teknology-2-chip.html#links

    Hopefully we can do some things together soon & keep up the good work!
    Mista Hippo

  2. rilla Says:

    ill say this… somebody just killed a post. shock, you know i never doubted the collection

  3. white silk Says:

    that Mood material is nice….had never heard them before. I dig that!

    -silk

  4. Ison Says:

    I really like Mood. I’m mad I had know ideas they exsisted!

    Ison

  5. doctashock Says:

    Glad I got to turn you on to them. This is turning out to be one of our most popular posts.

    What led you over to our blog?

  6. donte(from mood) Says:

    i’m glad yall stop sleepin on us……. i have a new solo album coming (proof of life)a compilation,(nasty boyz:crime seen) the mood & hi-tek collection mix cd(underground hip hop 101) & the new mood album (hall of fame) so keep yo eyes & ears open………………… come check me out on myspace myspace.com/dontemood & myspace.com/moodhiphop (thanx for the luv)

Leave a Reply

