Is it wrong to have a Funeral Playlist?

by

TEMPLE OF THE DOG – SAY HELLO 2 HEAVEN

It’s certainly not first-date conversation, but I do know the three songs I want played at my funeral. Yes, at my funeral (that would be when I’m dead). And although I’m not planning on dying anytime soon, I don’t have a real problem talking about it. Nevertheless, I understand some people have a hard time hearing this (esp. family and close loved ones). But I don’t think it’s as morbid a subject as some would think. I’m just planning ahead.

PEARL JAM – ALIVE (LIVE)

A little fact you may not know about me… I’ve been to Many funerals. How, or why? Because I was an alter-boy, a decent student, and played sports well. Back in the day (4th-7th grade) I attended a small private Catholic school in Visalia, CA, and across the street was the Church.

There would be funerals from time to time during school hours, and they needed alter-boys. Now although there was ‘a list’ to pull from, basically the Principal decided who gets some time away from the teacher (& kids are willing to do anything over school, right?). Well, it so happens the Principal was also the coach of the Baseball team — and it’s still ‘all who you know’ even in 6th grade. Thus, many times I would find myself in the “fortunate” spot of standing over someone’s coffin, watching strangers cry, while sucking-up the pain from the burning wax dripping over my hands from the candle I’m holding. Hey, you might even find a metaphor for what prepared me for the “real” Hollywood-Scene in there somewhere too, but don’t look too deep.

So where was I? Oh, my three songs… but not yet. I must first give some love to the memory of Lorenzo Garcia (www.lorenzogarcia.com) and props to his beautiful family. When I attended his funeral a few years ago, his family did a splendid video-picture presentation of some moments of his very short life. The song that played was “Tears In Heaven” by Eric Clapton (as you might expect). Even today, it is tough to hear that song without an instant memory of Lorenzo and our friends, the Garcia’s. Forget heaven, the tears are right here.

ERIC CLAPTON – TEARS IN HEAVEN

Now I’ve had some songs picked for my funeral for over ten years, but this Lorenzo experience made me question if I wanted to have songs play at my funeral that might forever spoil, taint, affect, change, or just plain disturb the way a person listens or ever hears that song again. But my answer is simple… yes. I’m sorry, but yes. Isn’t that the power and presence of music smacking you upside the head, and letting you know you can’t hide from true emotion? Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to make people feel sad on purpose — just think and remember.

PETER GABRIEL – DIGGING IN THE DIRT

For now, just enjoy the music. I’m just making the record known (and it’s subject to change, but doubtful) I want the following three songs played at my funeral. The after-party is up to the rest of you=). RIP…

SPLENDER – I THINK GOD CAN EXPLAIN

QUEENSRYCHE – SILENT LUCIDITY

THE VERVE & ANDREW OLDHAM ORCHESTRA – BITTERSWEET SYMPHONY

 

Temple of the DogTenRush SoundtrackUsHalfway Down the SkyEmpireCruel Intentions Soundtrack

2 Responses to “Is it wrong to have a Funeral Playlist?”

  1. tractor Says:

    dude, you made me cry on my keyboard. I love you, man.

  2. fearless23 Says:

    Sorry, Tractor… I know Miss Spears in a Catholic School Uniform tends to do that to some guys.

Leave a Reply

