Liquor Run

by

Here in LA on the way to work every night I pass through the intersection of Silverlake and Sunset. Here lies a little plaza that houses a place called Silversun liquor. Yeah a liquor store in Silverlake the breeding ground for indie hipsters, if that gives you any point of reference. I’ve never actually stopped in there as I’m more of an ABC liquor/BevMo kind of guy myself, but anyway I bring all this up to tell you that someone had the audacity to actually name their band after this place.

Silversun Pickups is the name of the group and I first became aware of them about a little over a year ago when I heard their single Comeback Kid on a locals only radio show. I really dug the song at the time I’d get to hear it every now and then at other times on that station, but I never found out anymore about it.

These guys wouldn’t register on my radar again until we started playing their video for Kissing Families on M+.

I never really made the connection that this was the same band and it took a couple listens before I realized all the intricate little things going on in the song. I eventually started to really like it.

Fast forward to almost a year later and I keep hearing their name brought up all over the place, but only in places where I could assume them to be an LA phenomena. Of course unlike being a popular local band in other cities, in LA being a popular local group automatically means there are at least whisperings of you in other locales as well. One of the perks of living in the home of the entertainment industry I guess.

My coworker and regular Alternakid contibutor Darren brought their first full length in the other day and I’m hooked now. After doing some research though I’m realizing that these guys are getting a ton of press at this point along with a lot of comparisons to The Smashing Pumpkins.

I’m enjoying it now while I can because something tells me that in another couple months they’ll start to suffer from too much immediate overexposure, which is almmost certain death for a band that founds its fanbase in the indie hipster circles. This sucks because they’re actually really good. Check them out now cause the time to claim you were into them before they blew up is running out fast.

Silversun Pickups – Future Foe Scenarios

Silversun Pickups – Three Seed

Silversun Pickups – Waste It On

 

Carnavas

 

Current Giveaway Contests are still going: Check here and here for details

 

 

4 Responses to “Liquor Run”

  1. Sam Says:

    Docta-been missing you friend-stumbled upon this and thought a hello was in order-
    coldenginelogic

  2. Sam Says:

    typed the wrong link back-you can find me here
    http://www.dichotomyofepiphany.blogspot.com

  3. nueve Says:

    This is funny. I actually only took notice of them yesterday after hearing the song “Little Lover’s So Polite” on Indie. They play it every now and again, and it is awesome.

    -9

  4. Coachella Re-cap: Day 1 « The Alternakids Says:

    […] LP as well as “Kissing Families” from Pikul. Since I’ve already covered Carnavas here before I’ll post another one of my personal favorites from […]

Leave a Reply

