Alterna-vidz

by

Alright I’m still phoning these in so here’s a special post for you. Those of you who know me are aware that I’m in the filmmaking business. I’ve been working on learning everything I can about this business since the age of fifteen, and obviously music videos have always been a particularly interesting medium to me.

I like stylistic pieces that have interesting imagery and because of this one of my favorite directors has been Paul Hunter for going on over ten years now. A lot of people like to lump him in a pile with Hype Williams and I’ll give you that their styles are rather similar in lighting and the glossy look, but there’s an element to Paul’s work that stands out in my mind. He’s definitely got a knack for imagery and symbolism that I appears obvious to me. I also like the plethora of artists that Paul has worked with over the years a lot of which I discovered through his videos and have now become some of my favorite.

I’m sure to the general public he’s most known for his work with Xtina (pre-slut faze), Lenny Kravitz and other MTV darlings, but I don’t think a lot of people are aware of how deep his portfolio runs. You can check out a complete listing of his videography at this fansite.

For now here’s a sampling of a few of my favorites, some you may or may not have seen before and some others that you probably didn’t know he was responsible for.

A Perfect Circle – 3 Libras

Scarface feat. 2Pac – Smile

Deftones – Back 2 School

Erykah Badu – On & On

Marilyn Manson – I Don’t Like the Drugs (But the Drugs Like Me)

Blackstreet feat. Slash, Fishbone, and Old Dirty Bastard – Fix

Kelis – Get Along With You

Hole – Malibu

Leave a Reply

