To Get Me Out Of Bed Right Now

by

I’ve been sick. and I had to take the part of this week off from work. I feel a lot better, but to tell the truth I still don’t know if I’ve completely eradicated the bug from my system. Nevertheless, I woke up well before my usual time the other day (I work a night shift) so that I could take advantage of a presale for a very special performance by the band most of my friends identify me with the most…. Sonic Youth.

I usually catch at least 2 or 3 performances by SY each year and a few months ago it was announced that this year they would do a few shows where they play their monumental 1988 release Daydream Nation in full.

Daydream Nation

 

Being one of my favorite bands and all it’s kind of surprising that I haven’t done a proper post solely dedicated to them as of yet, but I feel like throwing something together real quick would be doing them an injustice, and let’s face it, most of the posts I put up myself around here are pretty thrown together. I’m pretty sure my frequent name drops and other mentions throughout my assorted ramblings will suffice to give enough of a crash course. I mean, some bands are just too massive to try to sum up in one sitting anyway.

It is worth noting that in 2005 Daydream Nation was selected by the Library of Congress to be included in the National Recording Registry. I would like to think that as far as validation goes, that’s quite an honor. So instead of trying to summarize the album for you, I’ll treat this post more as a dedication and let the music speak for itself.

Sonic Youth – Silver Rocket

Sonic Youth is one of those bands that has surpassed the boundaries of most bands and within themselves have become somewhat of a culturall institution. You know the name you can always drop when in doubt if you get into pointless postulating with a bunch of hipsters or music snobs. For that reason you have a lot of people who run around proclaiming how much they love the band, but couldn’t name one song. If for some ungodly reason you are totally unfamiliar with Sonic Youth at all just know that they laid a lot of the benchmarks for independent rock as it exists today. I personally like to say that any music created after 1980 that does not inherently suck was either directly influenced or associated with Sonic Youth in some shape form or fashion. I’d like to hear someone contradict that with an example just so I can show you how strong their impact is.

Sonic Youth

 

So as not to come off as a complete poser when you quote me to sound cool… here’s n example of their innovative guitar mastery.

Sonic Youth – ‘Cross The Breeze

Ticket’s officially went on sale today and they will only be doing the Daydream Nation shows for 3 or 4 dates in the US plus a couple in Europe. Obviously I highly recommend you check it out.  Also later this year Daydream Nation is slated for a 2-disc Deluxe Edition reissue which should include new rare and unreleased tracks.

Sonic Youth – Kissability

 

For todays bonus I present a few interview clips with the band from back when the album was first released almost 20 years ago as well as the video for their flagship song “Teenage Riot”. See how many cameos you can spot in the footage.

 

5 Responses to “To Get Me Out Of Bed Right Now”

  1. bb Says:

    i’m definitely feelin you on this post, sonic youth’s music is unbelievable, and i love their guitarwork

  2. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    After reading the article, I feel that I need more information on the topic. Can you suggest some resources ?

  3. where to buy miracle garcinia cambogia Says:

    Thank you any other spectacular posting. The spot in addition may well anybody have that style of details in such a great way of publishing? I’ve a display pursuing full week, and I’m around the hunt for such information.

  4. Keith Says:

    Τhanks for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was once a
    leisure account it. Look complex to more brought agreeable from you!
    However, how could we ϲommunicate?

  5. medical billing coding online schools Says:

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally
    educative and entertaining, and without a doubt,
    you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks are speaking
    intelligently about. I am very happy I found this in my hunt for something concerning this.

Leave a Reply

