Welcome to Memphis

by

 

Memphis Industries

So… the other day I got an international package in my mailbox from Memphis Industries. You see, I’m a big fan of Tokyo Police Club and a while ago I got word that they’d affiliated themselves with Memphis Industries out of London. I sent a friendly email and next thing I know I’ve got parcels with handwritten notes and customs declarations sitting in my PO Box. Maybe this will be the start of a beautiful relationship… who knows.

Anyway, contained in the package was a sampler of MI artist of which TPC was not included in, but there was some other interesting stuff represented. These are what I’ve deemed as the highlights.

The Go! Team

I have to say… when I first heard about The Go! Team I didn’t quite get it. I meant the whole concept of cheer squad as rock band just screamed gimmick to me from the start. It was hearing the RJD2 remix for “Huddle Formation” though that made me start to warm up to the idea. I still have only heard a handful of songs from the group, but I’ve learned to quit being so pretentious and just have fun when it comes to these jams. I’m still thinking the idea of a parody band called “The Stop! Team” would be hilarious though.

The Go! Team – We Just Won’t Be Defeated

 

Dungen

I knew nothing of these guys previously, but that intro to this song alone got my attention. From there it’s all Swedish to me, so I’ll assume he’s singing about something cool. I mean I like Pandas, so I guess I’ll just have to go with that. After a little research I found out that Dungen really consists of one guy in the studio and a few rotating players for tours. I’m definitely interested to see what else he can do.

Dungen – Panda

 

Pippettes

The first thing I thought when I heard this track was… “they sound a lot like blogosphere darlings CSS”. Then a little over 30 seconds into it an actual melody breaks out and thoughts of a Spektor era girl band come to mind. Apparently they already have quite a following so I don’t have very much to add to the information that’s already out there in that regard. This is definitely a good song though.

The Pipettes – Your Kisses Are Wasted On Me

Also included on the sampler were tracks from The Russian Futurists, The Squire of Somerton, Absentee, Field Music, The Black Neon, and El Perro Del Mar. I would be remiss though if I were to do this post and not include a track from Tokyo Police club… so here’s your bonus for the day.

Tokyo Police Club

Tokyo Police Club – Be Good

 

Right now there’s a sale going on where you can get a grab bag sampling of 5 full albums from a random selection out of Memphis Industries back catalog for under $20 USD. Quite the deal if you ask me considering the cost of CD’s these days. So why not take a chance and get hooked up?

 

Thunder, Lightning, StrikeTa Det LugntWe Are The PipettesA Lesson In Crime

 

2 Responses to “Welcome to Memphis”

  1. matt Says:

    gotta say, the only two Memphis Industries bands I was familiar with — unitl now — were The Go! Team and Pipettes. But I’ve been a big fan and champion of The Go! Team for over two years now. GREAT live show. “Ladyflash” had to be one of the most played tracks on my iPod 2 yrs ago (great vid for that track as well).

    –cheers

    p.s. I’ll keep my eye open for The Stop! Team

  2. Alison Says:

    You realize that above Tokyo Police Club – “Be Good” is a picture of Malajube, not Tokyo Police Club. I know they’re both Canadian, but they don’t all look alike. So there’s that.

Leave a Reply

