Award Winning Bloggage… sort of

by

Well, around here we’re still recovering from the excitement and exhaustion of Coachella. There will be some reviews of that experience coming shortly as well as an interview I did with Cornelius after his performance saturday night, but in the meantime I’ll be dealing with a whirlwind of changes in my personal life that I can’t really talk about until a few more things settle down.

For now though, I wanted to talk about a few things. A few weeks ago Matt over at los amigos de durutti gave us a nod while selecting his picks for the “Thinking Blogger Awards“. Apparently this has been going around for a bit, and I feel honored to be recognized by fellow bloggers whose writing I respect. I wanted to take the time to pass along the recognition. As stated in the original propogation of this “meme” I don’t really care for masturbatory random linkage, but there are some blogs that I feel are worthy of mention and fit into the ethos of what this particular movement is about… or something like that.

So without further ado… here’s how it works:

the meme “award” rules

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
3. Optional: Proudly display the congratulations! you’ve won a “Thinking Blogger Award” badge.

Thinking Blogger Badge

And here are my 5 picks:

  1. Feed Me Good Tunes
  2. Music Is Art
  3. Merry Swankster
  4. Nialler 9
  5. The Passion of the Weiss

Now there are more blogs I love such as Soul Sides which were already mentioned elsewhere, so I left them off of my list in order to spread the love. I also have to mention that Get Downnn will always be special to me as they were the ones who inspired me to start blogging to begin with. But I picked these for recognition here because as of most recently they are the ones that have kept me coming back religiously to see what thought provoking insights they have to provide, regardless of who they’re posting about. Maybe they’ll be moved to continue spreading the love. I should also point out that these “Thinking Bloggger” awards are not limited to music blogs, but being as how that’s mainly what I follow, my selections obviously reflect that.

 

Also, right before I left for Coachella I was contacted about a new movement being mobilized within the WordPress blogging community. I know that “Blogger” gets a lot of love as a host, but I have to say I have been immensly pleased with using WordPress for this project of ours. It seems as though every time I turn around we are getting new features and plug-ins to play with. Some of which we’ve been able to take immediate advantage of and some others which may come in handy somewhere down the line for us. Everytime I’ve sent an email to the support team I’ve received a response within 24 hours, and in general the staff at WordPress works very hard to create a sense of community among it’s users.

So I was happy to see that within that community the music bloggers of WordPress have decided to try and come together and promote our little tribe. The last I heard we were still trying to create a list of all of our fellow WordPress blogs that are strictly dedicated to music writing. Go check out our peers and let them know that we sent you. Who knows, you might find a new regular read. So far here are the sites we’ve come up with, if you know of any others give us a shout:

Last but not least, this week we just got in some brand spankin’ new Alternakids stickers. I was hoping to get them in before the Coachella trip, however luck didn’t work in our favor as far as that was concerned. But they are here now and they look pretty damn good if I may say so myself. Thanks to “nueve” for putting together the design.

First Edition Stickers

If you’d like to have a few to help spread the word about the coolest music bloggers on the web, then just shoot us an email and we’ll try to get some out to you ASAP. Also if you’re lucky enough to win one of the contests we still have going on, I’ll be sure to throw in a couple when we mail out the prizes. Much props to Sticker Robot for hooking up the final product. Check them out yourself if you ever find the need for some good quality stickerage at great prices.

Coachella wrap-up will be on the way very shortly… until then leave us some love in the comment section, we like that.

13 Responses to “Award Winning Bloggage… sort of”

  1. jeej Says:

    I see >>just like music in that list, that’s a pretty damn amazing blog, hey hang on a sec… it’s mine! 😛

  2. Adam Says:

    Hey, thanks for the shout. I’d definitely add Funky16Corners to that list. It’s one of the other WordPress blogs I read regularly.

  3. Dig That Crazy Email! « hahamusic Says:

    […] vs. bear and get the Erykah Badu/Madlib collaboration they’ve got posted. NOW. Also, over at The Alternakids, doctashock has posted a pretty sweet list of WordPress blogs. We here at hahamusic think […]

  4. Jeff Says:

    Thanks for the shout, Doc, it was good seeing you at Coachella.

  5. ken Says:

    hey there – as the webgeek of I Radio Heaven (http://www.iradioheaven.com), i am just in the middle of switching from Typepad to WordPress, and I’m very excited about it.

  6. dtags21 Says:

    rather hurt you didn’t mention Further Down the River as a music blog, but I’ll survive. If you want to catch some of my Coachella reviews and pictures, be my guest. Hope you had as good a time as I did. Take it easy, Doc

  7. lingeringbursitis Says:

    Damn, the nod is much appreciated!

    I’m digging the new Cornelius — some good, predictably-trippy videos on YouTube last I checked — he never fails to please a little bit. Good solid tunes.

    Looking forward to the Coachella wrap-up.

  8. dtags21 Says:

    doc, no hard feelings. My blog does have some personal shit on there. I just moved to Seattle and kinda use it to show pics to the friends and family back in NY. I’ve just been blogging for a while now and only recently have been trying to get traffic to my site. I find it’s a little difficult to get your site out there without any help. As for a guest post I would love to do one for alternakids. Let me know when you want one and i’ll dig up something good to write on.

  9. dtags21 Says:

    by the way i’m interested to see what you have to say about the festival. I was a coachella virgin and had an amazing time. I still have a bunch of pictures to post. Keep me posted on any happenings with the wordpress music community. I would really love to be a part of it.

  10. bruce banner Says:

    congrats on gettin a nod as a “thinking blogger” looks like your site is going strong docta —dope!!! good lookin out on the shout out, but really, i can’t imagine our blog inspiring anything or anybody~

    peace!
    bb

    ps. don’t know if you’re aware, but looks like stax is putting on a show this summer at the bowl, and it sounds like something you’d probably dig…check it out if you haven’t already~

  11. musicisart Says:

    awwww thankyou docta… thats very kind of you.

    im glad you won a *thinking bloggers* award…
    as always, keep on doing a great job!

  12. Sebastian Says:

    Thanks for the shout.

  13. jeej Says:

    FYI…

    Just Like Music is now at http://www.juslikemusic.com

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

