Don’t Let Music Die: Please Help Save Internet Radio

by

Let’s just say I’ve got quite a few tales of political activism from my past (I lived in Tallahassee, FL during the 2000 election and in Ohio during the 2004 fiasco), but for the most part I tend not to get up on a soapbox when it comes to the issues.  However, I think the Internet Radio Equality Act is extremely relevent for this particular blog and I want to help spread awareness as much as possible.

 In a nutshell unless the public is successful in petitioning Congress in the next day or so, pretty much all internet radio will be forced to shut down on this Sunday, July 15th.  For more information on the details about the new internet royalty structure and how it will affect internet broadcasters across the country visit Savenetradio.org.

I’ve been aware of the issue for awhile, but I didn’t think the proposed measures would seriously pass, and I definitely didn’t think the fallout would be so imminent.  I hope you will feel compelled to take 5 minutes out of your day to call the offices of your congressional representatives to lend voice to the cause.  I figure with all of the other major issues on the political agenda this probably isn’t being considered by the political bigwigs as much as one would hope.  With that in mind I’d hope that a few earnest pleas from the public would be enough to help convince them that the public really cares about this issue.

savenetradio.org

7 Responses to “Don’t Let Music Die: Please Help Save Internet Radio”

  1. ni9n Says:

    In case our readers haven’t heard yet, the CRB has lightened up a bit and are essentially backing off for now. Here’s a link to a Wired article detailing the reprieve: http://www.wired.com/entertainment/music/news/2007/07/webcasters_face_music

    Also, if you’d like to read a bit about the difference between US and UK online radio stations, and how this is nothing new to those in the UK, check out Last.FM’s blog about last months “Day of Silence”: http://blog.last.fm/2007/06/25/make-some-noise

    -9

  2. satisfied75 Says:

    thanks for help spreading awareness of this. serious bidness.

  3. Banners Dublin Says:

    I was amazed how wonderful your thought was and I am looking forward for more interesting topic you can share with your subscribers and readers. Thanks a lot.

  4. Banners Dublin Says:

    For more info take a look at my website. Thank you again.

  5. Orlando education jobs Says:

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I
    came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Exceptional blog and terrific design.

  6. Online Concealed Weapons Class Says:

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

  7. winter park home appraiser Says:

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This article
    posted at this website is truly nice.

Leave a Reply

