Amazed at how he still get paid but dumb lazy

by

So yes, we still exist and somehow to my amazement our traffic somehow seems to still be growing.  Anyway, some of you have said told me personally that you were looking forward to seeing our picks for the “best of 2007” and that post is definitely on it’s way.  The list has already been compiled and it should be going up in the very near future.

Now I’m not really one who makes New Years Resolutions.  I figure what is it about early January that makes me anymore likely to start doing something than any other time of year, but if I were to make some this year I suppose doing a better job of keeping up this blog would be towards the top of the list.  Every now and then I get reminded that people actually do check in on this page and sometimes I even find out that people have heard of us in places I never would have imagined a year and a half ago when I started this thing.

Today though I want to talk about my New Years Eve experience and give my two cents about a certain performer whose recent antics have been the cause of much controversy and speculation.  You see contrary to popular belief, I don’t spend all of my time on the internet finding out the latest and most up to date rumors on the street about everything (at least not anymore).  So when I went to the Los Angeles stop on the Rock the Bells tour I didn’t think too much about the fact that after waiting longer than I felt was necessary I went to the other stage and missed MF Doom’s performance all together.  I mean after all Nas barely showed up in time to do two songs at the end of The Roots set during the very same show.

You see at that time I was unaware of the “lip-synching fake Doom” accusations that have been flying around recently.  Well on New Years Eve I finally got to see what all the furor is about.  See I hadn’t seen the masked villain live before, so I went to this show specifically to catch him doing his thing.  By this point I had of course heard the rumors about the fake man behind the mask and I was honestly just as interested to see what would happen as I was to see the show.

MF Doom – Monkey Suite

Well long story short… we ended up waiting longer for this guy to actually take the stage than the amount of time he spent on stage.  There was some prima donna shit going on where they needed to clear out the whole backstage and VIP area just so he could come through (I somehow ended up standing next to Fatlip from “The Pharcyde” who seemed to be more frustrated about the fiasco than I was).  The 4 masked “hype men” on stage made more noise than the supposed MC, and maybe twenty minutes passed before they were all trying to leave the stage. 

Fake Doom?

Like I said, this was supposed to be my first time seeing Doom live, so I can’t comment on how “authentic” the guy on stage was, but regardless of whether it was an imposter or not, the performance was bunk.  After the whole debacle there was no shortage of criticism from the other acts that night as to what had just transpired.  In fact now that I think about it this is the second time personally where I’ve seen the Living Legends crew have to cover for Doom being as how they extended their set at Rock the Bells while he wasn’t there  (I still don’t know whether or not he eventually showed up after I left).

Scarub and Eligh brought a vengefully fierce energy to the stage and even though I’m not very well versed in their catalog they did everything in their power to make up for the disappointment of the crowd.  I mean this is LA, mofos will riot (especially when you consider those who waited to buy their tickets at the door paid $50).  And seriously, who can complain about a surprise KRS-One appearance. 

KRS-One – MC’s Act Like They Don’t Know

I missed a lot of the other people who performed earlier that night, but I do want to take a minute to shout out my homie The Gaslamp Killah.  I was standing outside in the sadly unorganized entrance line while he was performing but in my experience he’s always guaranteed to rock the house.  Maybe I can convince him to put together an exclusive Alternakid mix sometime… hmmm.

Gaslamp Killah – Wednesday Night Live Megamix

Anyway, here’s to me regaining my ambition this year and to our readers hearing a lot more from us this year.  Happy 2008 ya’ll.

One Response to “Amazed at how he still get paid but dumb lazy”

  1. Sondh Says:

    I’ve read somewhere that this ‘fake Doom’ has something to do with his next release… Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

